SURPRISE!  Excited about this post am I. Mega Nerd I am. Like the “stay up real late on a weeknight making Chewbacca sounds with my friends as we wait in line for the early showing of The Force Awakens” kind of nerd. Sooner or later my true colors were going to shine through. So, why not force push this mentality out early and get it over with?

Once a month I want to have a post where I showcase somebody as a Mellow Role Model. Someone who can teach us a thing or two about unlocking your inner authenticity, falling in love with the struggles in life to help you grow stronger, and energizing your Mellow Mindset. What is this week’s Mellow Role Model? My dude from Dagobah, the green-machine, 2′ 2″ with the perfect mix of zen and badassary…my friend Yoda. What’s that? You’re saying its unfair to have Yoda as a Mellow Role Model because he isn’t real? First off he is probably definitely real. Secondly, its my blog and I do what I want!

Real talk, there are definitely some solid life lessons that can be learned from the Jedi Master. I used to watch these movies with my dad and even when I was a little I picked up some of the gems that Yoda blesses us with. Here are a few of my favorite Yoda quotes and how you can relate them to your life.

  • “In this war, a danger there is, of losing who we are.“ – Star Wars: The Clone Wars

Now not many of us are going to find ourselves involved in an intergalactic clone war in our lifetime. Or maybe we will, I mean it’s 2017 anything can happen. Even though we cannot relate to the struggles of space war, what we all can relate to is the struggles of life. Life is hard. Life sucks sometimes. As we try to navigate the narrow and broken road of life, at some point I’m sure you will feel a bit lost and distraught.  These struggles really shake us because we don’t want these situations to change us into something we don’t want. We always try to avoid struggles and pain because we are afraid what it will do to us. I think the opposite needs to happen. Life is going to have struggles, there will be pain, ignoring it is ignorant. Learn to Jedi Mind-trick yourself into believing that true and authentic happiness comes from struggle and that pain is one of the best teacher you can have in your life. Avoiding pain and struggle is like running on a treadmill, it’s hard work but doesn’t get you very far. Accept the tough and deal with it and watch yourself grow tenfold.

  • “Size matters not. Look at me. Judge me by my size, do you? Hmm? Hmm. And well you should not.” – Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

“For my ally is the force, and a powerful ally it is”. Seriously guys this post is making me geek out on a most excellent level. I admit this may not be Yoda’s best line but it hits close to home for me as I was one of the shortest guys in my class and I held onto this quote tightly back then. This has more to do than sticking up for the vertically challenged, this is about not judging a book by its cover. At face value, Yoda seems old, weak, short, and somewhat delusional. Dig down below the surface and you will see how incredibly powerful, athletic, and wise our little green dude is. You learn that he is the most powerful Jedi in the galaxy.  The lesson? Don’t take people at face value. The lady on the train, that guy who walks by your house and digs in the trash, that person who seems to be a little too confident in the office. There is a lot more going on then what’s happening on the surface.

  • “Do or do not. There is no try.” – Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

This line is incredible. So good in fact that I used to write this on the back of receipts to customers at my first job at MacDaddy’s restaurant. Shout out to you Big Stone City, SD. One, two, or 50 million times I have found myself not giving my full potential on something. To me this quote means that you must commit yourself to something fully to see results. Laziness, self-doubt, anxiousness will creep in and may make you think that you won’t perform to you highest potential. By eliminating the word try from your vocabulary, you already have a step-up on your doubt. You accept that your attempt may not reap the results you are looking for, but that’s OK! You will learn from the opportunities that were presented to you and better yourself in the process. Now we have a lot more training before we can lift large objects with our minds, will, and the force. What we can do, however, is believe in our abilities and take on life’s challenges with confidence and know that you are one with the force and the force is with you.

Thank you so much for reading. I hope Star Wars inspires you as much as it inspires me. If not, drop me a line at blog.mellowmindset@gmail.com and tell me what movie really inspires you or what you thought of the post. Stay Mellow My Friends.

